Key Hook DIY

In our little apartment, mail and keys and other junk is always collecting on our little kitchen bar, and on the side of our buffet table when you walk in. So I wanted to hang a key hook to help clean it up a bit. I wasn’t really finding anything in stores I wanted. So I searched Pinterest, of course, to come up with some ideas.

I just wanted something simple, but with a rustic feel. So this is what I came up with:

keyhook3

This is what I used:

IMG_4870 IMG_4872 IMG_4883

1. Piece of wood I bought at Lowes (it was like 17 cents or something, no idea what kind, i just picked a piece I liked 🙂 )

2. Rustolium Wood Stain in Dark Walnut

3. 3 silver keys in different shapes (I had to ask for these behind the key counter)

4. Specialty tacks in the sewing/fabric section at Hobby Lobby

Matt has access to some tools at his office, so I gave him the wood to cut and the keys to bend and to burn. You can get Lowe’s or Home Depot to cut your wood for you while your at the store if you have no access to a saw. I didn’t have any specific measurements, I just divided my piece of wood into thirds, making one piece long enough for my 3 keys.

When he finally brought me back my wood and keys (he kept forgetting to do it and bring it back, haha) I then stained the wood and tried sanding it. My sanding method (to rough it up a bit) didn’t work well, so I just left it alone! I liked the color of the stain as it was anyway.

Then I just eyed the space between the keys, and hammered the tack into the wood to hold the keys in place. That’s it! Done.

Xo Dreamers, Erin

One thought on “Key Hook DIY

What do you think?

