If I were a host: My Pretend Thanksgiving

Hello All!

I know it’s been quite a while since my last post, but I have been busy and traveling to my hometown for a long awaited visit! However, I now have some downtime, and decided I needed to write a Thanksgiving post, since it is right around the corner!

Matt and I have a fairly small apartment, and we don’t even have an eating table. We have an area for one, but we went in a different direction and bought a buffet style table for that area instead. So, as the title explains, these are the things I WOULD do if I were to actually have a table, and host an actual Thanksgiving dinner!

The Tablescape:

Thanksgiving Table 3

My fantasy table would be rustic and simple, leaving room to serve the food, but being cozy at the same time. Different textures, metallics, and candles would do the trick to set the mood of an inviting thanksgiving dinner. (Decor and set-up is my favorite part.)

1. My dream table- from Pottery Barn

2. Nubby Placemats to add texture- Pottery Barn

3. Flatware- Pottery Barn (I have some exactly like this from Target)

4. Fall Festive Napkins- Target

5. Votives for the center- West Elm. I would need to keep it small so the food spread could fit. I don’t have much counter space.

6. Lanterns- Crate & Barrel- 2 for the center of the table.

7. Metallic Chargers- Pottery Barn

8. Solid and Patterned Plates- West Elm

9. Stemware- Crate & Barrel- I’m dying to own these in real life.

Place Holder:

To add a personal touch to each place setting, I would like to do something like this. It’s simple and festive. I may use different gourds to add a unique and eclectic feel.

placeholder

The Menu:

Since I would have such as small entertaining space, and a small kitchen and prep space, I would ask the family to pitch in with the food. Planning ahead, I would ask them each to bring a a dish or two! That way I could focus on the main attraction, the turkey! I know we would have the classics and our favorites: broccoli casserole, turkey and dressing, mashed potatoes, deviled eggs, squash or corn casserole, macaroni and cheese, cranberry sauce…I could go on! But I am going to skip straight to the desserts, only because that is my favorite part!

Dessert:

Pumpkin Cheesecake! (Rachel Ray)

Pumpkin Cheesecake! (Rachel Ray)

Classic pecan pie! (Rachel  Ray)

Classic pecan pie! (Rachel Ray)

With a some great conversation, a little wine and a fabulous dinner, you should be on the road for a very successful thanksgiving! I know one day I’ll be able to host, but I am still looking forward to the delicious food and great company it brings! Happy eating!

What is you favorite Thanksgiving dish?

XO, Erin

 

4 thoughts on “If I were a host: My Pretend Thanksgiving

What do you think?

