Haunting Halloween Party

This morning I woke up to a chill in the air, the first time for an actual need of my sweatshirt this fall! While I was snuggled on the couch drinking my morning hot coffee, I was in the mood for some Halloween inspiration. While I’m not actually hosting a Halloween party this year (I’ll be waiting to hear how much fun my friends have down in GA at my friend Ashley’s new house!), I still decided to put together some ideas for those of you who may need some inspiration for your party at home!

Halloween is my second favorite holiday, so if and when I can, I want to go all out! I’m not big on the cheese, I’m big on the spook! So here are some spook-tacular ideas for creating a fright fest of a party for your guests!

Decor:

Make you house look like a crime scene! Using red glass paint, smear it and hand-print it on your windows. It comes off later!   [HGTV]

Make your house look like a crime scene! Using red glass paint, smear it and hand-print it on your windows. It comes off later! Add some caution tape, and tada! [HGTV]

Taking cheesecloth and hanging it around the house makes it look haunted and old! [HGTV]

Taking cheesecloth and hanging it around the house makes it look haunted and old! You can do this inside or out. [HGTV]

Add red or green food coloring to water, then add rubber creatures like mice, snakes, eyeballs... [HGTV]

Add red or green food coloring to water, then add rubber creatures like mice, snakes, eyeballs… [HGTV]

Bar/Cocktails:

For this, I pulled inspiration from Pottery Barn. They have a party planner section on their website. If you visit their page, they give you free printables, downloadable invitations and all kinds of ideas!

I looked up how to make your glasses look bloody: take either corn syrup or honey, and mix in red GEL food coloring and mix in a bowl. Dip the lip of glass in, stand it up, and let it drip on its own! I don't know how well this comes off, so I would get some cheap glass or plastic stemware at the dollar store!

I looked up how to make your glasses look bloody: take either corn syrup or honey, and mix in red GEL food coloring and mix in a bowl. Dip the lip of glass in, stand it up, and let it drip on its own! I don’t know how well this comes off, so I would get some cheap glass or plastic stemware at the dollar store!

Bloody Mary shooters, served in test tubes. I found a 25 pack of these glass tubes for $2.95 on amazon!

Bloody Mary shooters, served in test tubes. I found a 25 pack of these glass tubes for $2.95 on amazon!

Vampire Cocktail. [Recipe on HGTV]

Vampire Cocktail. [Recipe on HGTV]

Brain Cocktail! [Recipe on HGTV]

Brain Cocktail! [Recipe on HGTV]

Make a variation of drinks with Black Vodka! So awesome. [Martha Stewart]

Make a variation of drinks with Black Vodka! So awesome. [Martha Stewart]

Treats:

These are inspired from non other than Martha Stewart!

This Creep Crawler cake would be festive! You could do cupcakes for a more server friendly version. You could also switch it up and do black or orange icing!

This Creepy Crawler cake would be festive! You could do cupcakes for a more server friendly version. You could also switch it up and do red or orange icing!

Rice Krispies are super easy and cheap! You could make any shape you want with cookie cutters and food dye!

Rice Krispies are super easy and cheap! You could make any shape you want with cookie cutters and food dye!

Easy way to do this: Thick Pretzel sticks, Marshmallows, and white dipping chocolate!

Easy way to do this: Thick Pretzel sticks, Marshmallows, and white dipping chocolate!

Simple! Brownie bites covered in sprinkles. Reese's cups with a little  chocolate on top! Easy, cheap, but made to look like fancy petites fours.

Simple! Brownie bites covered in sprinkles. Reese’s cups with a little chocolate on top! Easy, cheap, but made to look like fancy petites fours.

I Hope I have inspired you to create a festive halloween party that all your friends and family can enjoy! I’m including the links below to the websites I got my pictures and inspiration from!

HGTV Halloween Decorating

HGTV Halloween Cocktails

Pottery Barn Blood Bar

Martha Stewart Halloween Cocktails

Martha Stewart Halloween Treats

Glass Test Tubes for drinks

Happy Haunting!

Xo, Erin

10 thoughts on “Haunting Halloween Party

What do you think?

